Maintain the Google Workspace Integration

After configuring your Google Workspace integration, you can perform the following maintenance tasks on the synced directory:

Renaming a Google Workspace Directory

You can rename a Google Workspace directory at any time in the Admin Portal. 

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to DIRECTORY INTEGRATIONS > Cloud Directories
  3. Select the Google Workspace directory you want to rename.
  4. Click the Pencil icon next to the directory name.
  5. Enter a new unique name for the directory.
  6. Click outside of the name field to save the new name.

Disabling group management

Important:

If you disable group and membership management, no further changes are made to distribution groups in Google Workspace.

  1. Navigate to DIRECTORY INTEGRATIONS > Cloud Directories.
  2. Select the Google Workspace directory you want to manage groups for.
  3. In the Google Workspace Sync section of the Details tab, deselect Enable management of groups and memberships in Google Workspace.
  4. Click continue and then Save.

Managing domains

If you add domains in Google Workspace, want to change which domains sync, or change which domain is used as the default domain for the integration, follow the instructions in this section.

To edit the domains list

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to DIRECTORY INTEGRATIONS > Cloud Directories.
  3. Click the Google Workspace directory in which you want to create and manage the group(s).
  4. Click Edit Domains.
  5. Click the radio button next to one of the domains to use that domain for the UserPrincipalName translation rule
  6. Click save.

To change the default domain used for the integration

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to Cloud Directories.
  3. Click the Google Workspace directory.
  4. Click Edit Domains.
  5. Click the domain name and make a new selection
  6. Click Click +Add Domain.
  7. Click the dropdown menu.
  8. Select one of the domains from the list.
  9. Repeat steps 5-8 until all changes have been made
  10. Click save.

To remove domains from the list

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to Cloud Directories.
  3. Click the Google Workspace directory in which you want to create and manage the group(s).
  4. Click Edit Domains.
  5. Click the trash icon next to the domain you want to remove from the list
  6. Click save.

To revert to not specifying a default domain

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to Cloud Directories.
  3. Click the Google Workspace directory.
  4. Click Edit Domains.
  5. Click the radio button next to No default. Only users with matching domains sync.
  6. Click save.

Reactivating Google Workspace Sync

To resolve connection issues, you may need to reactivate Google Workspace sync. You may also need to reactivate Google Workspace sync to refresh tokens for the Google Super Admin user account that maintains a persistent connection with JumpCloud through OAuth2.0. 

Note:

Reactivating either with the same Google admin account or a different Google admin account will not disconnect users from the integration or disconnect their active Google Workspace sessions. It will also not send any notification to users.

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to DIRECTORY INTEGRATIONS > Cloud Directories.
  3. Select the Google Workspace directory for which you want to reactivate sync and click reactivate sync.
  4. Follow Google’s prompts to authorize JumpCloud.

Deactivating Google Workspace Sync

If you no longer want to sync a Google Workspace directory with JumpCloud, you can deactivate sync for it from the Cloud Directories tab of the Admin Portal. 

Warning:

If you're experiencing connection issues or need to refresh tokens for privileged users, reactivate sync for the Google Workspace domain rather than deactivating the sync. Deactivation breaks sync for a Google Workspace directory and disconnects all connected users and groups. Only deactivate sync for a Google Workspace directory if you no longer need it to sync with JumpCloud.

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to DIRECTORY INTEGRATIONS > Cloud Directories.
  3. Select the Google Workspace directory for which you want to deactivate sync and click deactivate sync.

After you deactivate sync for a Google Workspace directory

  • Sync ceases between JumpCloud and the Google Workspace directory. 
  • User attribute changes are no longer propagated from JumpCloud to Google Workspace.
  • All users are removed / disconnected from the Google Workspace directory in JumpCloud and will no longer be managed by JumpCloud.
  • Users won’t be affected.
    • All users in Google will remain ‘Active’ and will retain access to their respective Google Workspace applications.
    • All User accounts will remain Active in JumpCloud as well.  
Back to Top

Still Have Questions?

If you cannot find an answer to your question in our FAQ, you can always contact us.

Submit a Case