Integrate with Gong

Use JumpCloud SAML Single Sign On (SSO) to give your users convenient but secure access to all their web applications with a single set of credentials. Automatically provision, update and deprovision users and groups in Gong from JumpCloud using the Identity Management (SCIM) integration. Leverage this integration to centralize user lifecycle, user identity, and group management in JumpCloud for Gong. Save time and avoid mistakes, as well as potential security risks, related to manually creating users.

Read this article to learn how to integrate with Gong.

Prerequisites

  • A JumpCloud administrator account.
  • A Gong user account with Business Admin app permissions.

Important Considerations

  • Gong SCIM API is based on version 2.0 of the SCIM standard.
  • Groups are supported.

Attribute Considerations

  • A default set of attributes are managed for users. See the Attribute Mappings section for more details.

Creating a new JumpCloud Application Integration

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Navigate to USER AUTHENTICATION SSO Applications.
  3. Click + Add New Application.
  4. Type the name of the application in the Search field and select it.
  5. Click Next.
  6. In the Display Label, type your name for the application. Optionally, you can enter a Description, adjust the User Portal Image and choose to hide or Show in User Portal.

Note:

If this is a Bookmark Application, enter your sign-in URL in the Bookmark URL field.

  1. Click Save Application.
  2. If successful, click:
    • Configure Application and go to the next section.
    • Close to configure your new application at a later time.

Configuring the SSO Integration

To configure JumpCloud

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Go to USER AUTHENTICATION > SSO Applications.
  3. Create a new application or select it from the Configured Applications list.
  4. Select the SSO tab.
  5. Click Copy Metadata URL. The URL will be copied to your clipboard.
  6. Click save.

To configure Gong

  1. Login to Gong as an administrator.
  2. Click on your name in the top right of the screen and navigate to Company Settings from the dropdown menu.
  3. Select Authentication > Generic SAML SSO.
  4. Paste the metadata URL copied in the previous section in the appropriate field.
  5. In the Redirect URL field, you can optionally enter console.jumpcloud.com or any URL you would like your users to go after they logout.
  6. Click Update.

Configuring the Identity Management Integration

To configure JumpCloud

  1. Create a new application or select it from the Configured Applications list.
  2. Select the Identity Management tab.
  3. Select the Enable management of User Groups and Group Membership in this application checkbox if you want to provision, manage, and sync groups in Gong from JumpCloud. See Group Management Considerations.
  4. Click Configure.
  5. You will be redirected to the Gong Login page.
  6. Enter your Gong admin credentials and click Allow.
  7. If successful, you will be brought back to JumpCloud.
  8. Click save.

Attribute Mappings

The following table lists attributes that JumpCloud sends to the application. See Attribute Considerations for more information regarding attribute mapping considerations. 

Learn about JumpCloud Properties and how they work with system users in our API

Gong User Attributes

JumpCloud Property JumpCloud UI SCIM v2 Mapping Gong Value
email Company Email emails: value Email
username Username userName IdP Username
firstname First Name name.givenName First Name
lastname Last Name name.familyName Last Name
phoneNumbers.value Work Phone phoneNumbers.value Phone Number
jobTitle Job Title title Job Title
employeeIdentifier Employee ID externalId Employee Number
Displayname Display Name displayName firstname/lastname

Group Attributes

JumpCloud Property JumpCloud UI Field Name SCIM v2 Mapping Application Value
name Name displayName Name

Group Management Considerations

Enabling Group Management

You must select the Enable management of User Groups and Group Membership in this application option to manage groups and group membership in the application from JumpCloud.

Group Provisioning and Syncing 
  • Empty groups are not created.
  • JumpCloud takes over management of existing groups in the application when the user group name in JumpCloud matches the name of the group in the application.
  • All user groups associated with the application in JumpCloud are synced. Syncing occurs whenever there is a membership or group change event.
  • Group renaming is supported.
  • If a user group is disassociated from the application in JumpCloud, syncing immediately stops and the group is left as-is in the application. All members of that user group are deactivated in the application unless they are associated with another active application group that is managed from JumpCloud.
Group Deletion
  • Managed groups deleted in JumpCloud are deleted in the application.
  • All members of the deleted group are deactivated in the application, unless they are associated with another active application group that is managed from JumpCloud.
Disabling Group Management
  • You can disable group and group membership management by unchecking the Enable management of User Groups and Group Membership in this application option.
  • The managed groups and group membership are left as-is in the application.
  • JumpCloud stops sending group membership information for the user, but the user’s identity will continue to be managed from JumpCloud.

Authorizing User SSO Access

Users are implicitly denied access to applications. After you connect an application to JumpCloud, you need to authorize user access to that application. You can authorize user access from the Application Configuration panel or from the Groups Configuration panel. 

To authorize user access from the Application Configuration panel

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Go to USER AUTHENTICATION > SSO Applications, then select the application to which you want to authorize user access.
  3. Select the User Groups tab. If you need to create a new group of users, see Get Started: User Groups.
  4. Select the check box next to the group of users you want to give access.
  5. Click save

To learn how to authorize user access from the Groups Configuration panel, see Authorize Users to an SSO Application.

Validating SSO authentication workflow(s)

IdP Initiated

  • Access the JumpCloud User Console.
  • Select the application’s tile.
  • The application will launch and login the user.

SP Initiated

  • Navigate to your Service Provider application URL.
  • You will be redirected to log in to the JumpCloud User Portal.
  • The browser will be redirected back to the application and be automatically logged in.

Removing the Integration

Important:

These are steps for removing the integration in JumpCloud. Consult your SP's documentation for any additional steps needed to remove the integration in the SP. Failure to remove the integration successfully for both the SP and JumpCloud may result in users losing access to the application.

To deactivate the IdM Integration

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Go to USER AUTHENTICATION > SSO Applications.
  3. Search for the application that you’d like to deactivate and click to open its details panel. 
  4. Under the company name and logo on the left hand panel, click the Deactivate IdM connection link.
  5. Click confirm
  6. If successful, you will receive a confirmation message.

To deactivate the SSO Integration

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Go to USER AUTHENTICATION > SSO Applications.
  3. Search for the application that you’d like to deactivate and click to open its details panel. 
  4. Select the SSO tab.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the configuration.
  6. Click Deactivate SSO or Deactivate Bookmark
  7. Click save
  8. If successful, you will receive a confirmation message.

To delete the application

  1. Log in to the JumpCloud Admin Portal.
  2. Go to USER AUTHENTICATION > SSO Applications.
  3. Search for the application that you’d like to delete.
  4. Check the box next to the application to select it.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. Enter the number of the applications you are deleting
  7. Click Delete Application.
  8. If successful, you will see an application deletion confirmation notification.

List IconIn this Article

Still Have Questions?

If you cannot find an answer to your question in our FAQ, you can always contact us.

Submit a Case